Better Late Than Never…

Welcome to my blog! How exciting.  Although I wanted to start blogging on Sept 1st, it seems I needed the extra time to get ready. Sometimes it’s better to be patient and do things when they feel right.  So I guess today felt right. I’m interested in creating a blog that documents my journey but also shares with a community. I love blogs and end up reading them more often than anything else nowadays. So whether it’s music, art, culture, wellness, yoga, beauty, fashion and food.  I’ll be sure to let you know. Yup…  I’m curious about everything. I’m not an expert or a guru. I  just like to try things and explore what the world has to offer. So reach out to me, no judgement here. I want to live in a world with happy, fun and creative people. So thanks for joining me.  =)

Last week recap…

– On Friday, Sept 14th. I performed and hosted along with my partner Reph (Circa ’95) at the Dreamyard OSP (Out Of School Programs) 2nd Annual Movie Night. The space was packed! It’s great to see families and kids that are interested in the arts.  I began as a Teaching Artist at Dreamyard and now I’m currently the Artistic Director of the Bronx Acting Ensemble. I work with High School students on Saturdays from 10am to 3pm. Classes begin on Oct. 20th. Dreamyard offers classes in visual art, poetry, hip-hop music, theater, digital learning and more! It truly is a wonderful space, with the most caring and creative staff.  Feel free to check out what Dreamyard is doing and if you know a young person that could benefit from FREE art programs in the Bronx please let them know! www.dreamyard.com/osp

– On Saturday, Sept 15th we (Circa ’95) were invited to perform at Empire Fashion Boutique  in the Heights for the Classic Material NY release party for the new  tee ‘Uptown Hot Blocks Made Me’. The evening featured music by  DJ Big Jeff (ThisIs50.com) and Boogie Blind (Executioners). Performers included Timeless Truth, Black Roses, Sam Hill, Circa ’95 and Sporty Thievz.

Remember the parody of TLC’s hit “No Scrubs” entitled “No Pigeons”?  Well They performed it and let me tell you the nostalgia was in the air. As a fan of 90’s Hip-Hop music. It’s was a treat to see them perform live ! Big Shout out to the homie Big Dubez from Sporty Thievz for always showing love, Carlos from Classic Material and Ralph McDaniels from Video Music Box who was in the spot supporting.

RIP. Marlon Brando (3rd Member of Sporty Thievz). If you don’t know the story, On May 11, 2001,  he was killed after being struck by a car at the age of 22. The driver of the car was intoxicated and swerved onto the sidewalk. Marlon Brando saved a kids life by pushing him out of the way.  #UptownHero.

Follow me on Twitter @PattyDukesNYC 

Instagram: PattyDukes

 

Leave a Reply

