Recap from Philly… (NALAC 2012 Conference)

So today I’m stuck in my apartment in NYC because of Hurricane Sandy. I’m sending out a little prayer to everyone affected by this storm. Hope everyone is doing ok.  I didn’t have too much drama in my neck of the woods. Mostly the trees in the neighborhood are broken into pieces. Sad to see such amazing trees hurt. I’ve seen, played around and attended family BBQ’s with these trees since I was about 5 or 6 years old.  Sad to see them go.  Anyways since I’m staying in, it gives me a great reason to share some of my pics from my recent trip to philly. I had such a great time at the NALAC 2012 Conference! I can’t wait to go back to philly. The city has a thriving artistic community and awesome restaurants. I worked on an art piece for the Philly Mural Project, attended various panels one of which  was lead by Michael M. Kaiser president of the John F. Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts and met Latino artists from all over the country working in theater, visual arts, dance and poetry. It was dope to be among such dedicated artists. To be included and be given the opportunity to  perform was an honor. I’m getting more and more comfortable wearing my hair natural and having fun with what I’m wearing on stage. I was also very proud of myself for working out at the Loews Hotel gym. The hotel was really nice and the gym was cool too, so I was able to get a couple of hours each day to get my work-out on. So at the end of the day – No Excuses! If I want a better life for myself I have to create it. If I want to get fit, I need to work out. It’s pretty simple yet so hard to do sometimes. I’m on my way.

@Circa95 ::: @pattydukesnyc and @rephstar backstage at the Prince Music Theater in Philly

at the conference listening and learning and chilling with some of our peeps.

Got my badge w/ bag of goodies and sound check completed.

Performing on stage and supporting my friends @RebelDiaz with their panel presentation.

The Carrot Cake from the Lunch at the Hotel was the Bomb!

View from my hotel room in Philly.

Leave a Reply

